something something horizon. Day 35

gorgeous sky, even on a horrible day

gorgeous sky, even on a horrible day

I snapped this shot from my car on the way to pick up my brother. It’s not much, but damn, California…

My brother who, for his age, is unusually serious and sullen. He takes a lot on, and I think this week is especially busy for him. While I’m super proud of him, I worry that he’s not being a kid enough. He’s grown up too fast. So I take it upon myself to be the fun sister and try to lighten the mood. Today I accomplished that by making s’mores for him after his brutal piano lesson.

Sister points for me!

In other news… I didn’t get into any of the classes I wanted. What does that mean? ??? Yeah. It means a bunch of question marks. I woke up this morning not knowing what to do with myself. All I can think of for now is to start tutoring again and look for jobs.

It used to be that when I was sad, I wanted extra attention from the boyfriend. I wanted him to comfort me and say all these things, but that led to a lot of fighting. Because most of the time, I never even knew myself what I wanted to hear, or what would make me feel better, yet I expected him to just magically know. As my problems and stresses become more complicated, I’m finding that distancing myself is best. I at least have to begin to sort the problem for myself before I can expect others to get it.

Hence the picture of the beautiful sunset. And my double chocolate s’more. Little things on this craptastic day to make me feel better and hopefully give me perspective.

Leave a comment

Filed under 2013 365, Nature, Personal, Project 365

Leave a Reply

